Skip to main content

PASO Grant-Funded Library Materials: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks, & Guides

On this page...

Below, you'll find the following boxes:

  • Left column: Writing, Citing, and Communication; Multidisciplinary; Astronomy & Astrophysics
  • Center column: Biology (Macro, Micro, and Biomedicine); Chemistry
  • Right column: Computer Science; Earth Science; Engineering; Mathematics; Physics

Writing, Citation, and Communication

Multidisciplinary (General science, and food/cooking)


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):​

  • Advances in Data Mining & Database Management (ADMDM): Managing and Processing Big Data in Cloud Computing 1st Edition (2016)
  • Big Data and Smart Service Systems (2017)
  • Big Data Applications in the Telecommunications Industry (2017)
  • Clinical and Translational Science: Principles of Human Research (2017)
  • Fixing the Food System: Changing How We Produce and Consume Food (2016)
  • Forensic Science (2015)
  • Handbook of Research on Soft Computing and Nature-Inspired Algorithms (2017)
  • Praeger Security International: Introduction to Cybercrime: Computer Crimes, Laws, and Policing in the 21st Century (2016)
  • Security Breaches and Threat Prevention in the Internet of Things (2017)
  • Strategic Data-Based Wisdom in the Big Data Era (2015)

Astronomy & Astrophysics (see also Physics)

Biology -- Macro (including General Biology, Zoology, Botany, Entomology, Natural History, & Evolution)


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):​

  • Big Mechanisms in Systems Biology: Big Data Mining, Network Modeling, and Genome-Wide Data Identification (2017)
  • Forensic Science (2015)
  • Handbook of Research on Soft Computing and Nature-Inspired Algorithms (2017)

Biology -- Micro (including Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Genetics, & Neuroscience)

The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):​

  • Assistive Technologies for Physical and Cognitive Disabilities (2014)
  • Big Mechanisms in Systems Biology: Big Data Mining, Network Modeling, and Genome-Wide Data Identification (2017)​
  • Forensic Science (2015)
  • Genes, Environment and Alzheimer's Disease (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: Brain Disorders Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Genetic Disorders Sourcebook (2016)
  • Medical and Health Genomics (2016)

Biomedicine (including Nursing, Respiratory Therapy, Forensics, Kinesiology, & Health)

 


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):

  • A Clinical Guide to Gluten-Related Disorders (2014)
  • Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures (2014)
  • Assistive Technologies for Physical and Cognitive Disabilities (2014)
  • Chronic Diseases: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Effects, and Treatments (2016)
  • Clinical and Translational Science: Principles of Human Research (2017)
  • Fixing the Food System: Changing How We Produce and Consume Food (2016)
  • Forensic Science (2015)
  • Genes, Environment and Alzheimer's Disease (2016)
  • Health and Medical Issues Today: Concussions (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: AIDS Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Brain Disorders Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Cancer Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Cancer Sourcebook for Women (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Childhood Diseases Sourcebook (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: Complementary and Alternative Medicine Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Disabilities Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Environmental Health Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Genetic Disorders Sourcebook (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: Medical Tests Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference Series: Respiratory Disorders Sourcebook (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: Sports Injuries Sourcebook (2016)
  • Health Reference Series: Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook (2015)
  • Health Reference: Death and Dying Sourcebook (2017)
  • Health Reference: Disease Management Sourcebook (2017)
  • Health Reference: Endocrine & Metabolic Disorders Sourcebook (2017)
  • Health Reference: Pain Sourcebook (2017)
  • Health Reference: Surgery Sourcebook (2017)
  • Medical and Health Genomics (2016)
  • Nutrition: Science, Issues, and Applications (2015)​
  • Teen Health Series: Sexual Health Information for Teens: Health Tips About Sexual Development, Reproduction, Contraception, and Sexually Transmitted Infections (2015)
  • The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness (2017)
  • The Gale Encyclopedia Of Nutrition And Food Labels (2017)

Chemistry

Computer Science


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):

  • Advances in Computer and Electrical Engineering (ACEE): Sustaining Power Resources through Energy (2016)
  • Advances in Data Mining & Database Management (ADMDM): Managing and Processing Big Data in Cloud Computing 1st Edition (2016)
  • Big Data and Smart Service Systems (2017)
  • Big Data Applications in the Telecommunications Industry (2017)
  • Big Mechanisms in Systems Biology: Big Data Mining, Network Modeling, and Genome-Wide Data Identification (2017)​
  • Handbook of Research on Soft Computing and Nature-Inspired Algorithms (2017)
  • Praeger Security International: Introduction to Cybercrime: Computer Crimes, Laws, and Policing in the 21st Century (2016)
  • Robotics: Actuators and the Power to Do Tasks (2017)
  • Robotics: Advanced Programming and Design (2017)
  • Robotics: Integrated Robotics (2017)
  • Robotics: Locomotion and Mechanics (2017)
  • Robotics: Math, Programming, and Controllers (2017)
  • Robotics: Sensors and the Environment (2017)
  • Security Breaches and Threat Prevention in the Internet of Things (2017)
  • Strategic Data-Based Wisdom in the Big Data Era (2015)
  • Universal UX Design: Building Multicultural User (2017)

Earth Science (including Geography, Geology, Meteorology, Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Oceanography, & Fire Technology)

 


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):

  • Advances in Computer and Electrical Engineering (ACEE): Sustaining Power Resources through Energy (2016)
  • Agricultural Management Strategies In A Changing Economy (2015)
  • Clean Coal Engineering Technology (2017)
  • Contemporary World Issues: Fracking (2015)
  • Contemporary World Issues: Solar Energy: A Reference Handbook (2015)​
  • Energy Positive Neighborhoods and Smart Energy Districts: Methods, Tools, and Experiences from the Field (2017)
  • Fixing the Food System: Changing How We Produce and Consume Food (2016)
  • Genes, Environment and Alzheimer's Disease (2016)
  • Handbook of Research on Soft Computing and Nature-Inspired Algorithms (2017)
  • Health Reference Series: Environmental Health Sourcebook (2015)
  • The Human and Environmental Impact of Fracking: How Fracturing Shale for Gas Affects Us and Our World (2015)
  • Investigating Seafloors and Oceans: From Mud Volcanoes to Giant Squid (2017)
  • Solar Power Generation (2016)
  • The Gale Encyclopedia Of Nutrition And Food Labels (2017)

Engineering (including General, Electrical, Civil, & Geotechnical Engineering; Transportation; Military Science; Architecture; & Tool and Manufacturing Technology

The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):

  • Advances in Computer and Electrical Engineering (ACEE): Sustaining Power Resources through Energy (2016)
  • Agricultural Management Strategies In A Changing Economy (2015)
  • Assistive Technologies for Physical and Cognitive Disabilities (2014)
  • Clean Coal Engineering Technology (2017)
  • Contemporary World Issues: Fracking (2015)
  • Contemporary World Issues: Solar Energy: A Reference Handbook (2015)
  • Dewalt Carpentry And Framing Complete Handbook (2012)
  • Dewalt Construction Estimating Complete Handbook (2010)
  • Dewalt Construction Professional Reference Master Edition (2010)
  • Dewalt Construction Safety And OSHA Handbook (2013)
  • Dewalt Construction Safety OSHA Professional Reference (2007)
  • Dewalt Electrical Estimating Professional Reference 2 (2008)
  • Energy Positive Neighborhoods and Smart Energy Districts: Methods, Tools, and Experiences from the Field (2017)
  • The Human and Environmental Impact of Fracking: How Fracturing Shale for Gas Affects Us and Our World (2015)
  • Innovative Solutions in Fluid-Particle Systems and Renewable Energy Management (2015)
  • Robotics: Actuators and the Power to Do Tasks (2017)
  • Robotics: Advanced Programming and Design (2017)
  • Robotics: Integrated Robotics (2017)
  • Robotics: Locomotion and Mechanics (2017)
  • Robotics: Math, Programming, and Controllers (2017)
  • Robotics: Sensors and the Environment (2017)
  • Security Breaches and Threat Prevention in the Internet of Things (2017)
  • Solar Heating and Cooling Systems: Fundamentals, Experiments and Applications (2017)
  • Solar Power Generation (2016)
  • Universal UX Design: Building Multicultural User (2017)

Mathematics

Physics (see also Astronomy & Astrophysics)

 


The following titles in this subject area were added to GVRL, and can be accessed online through "Articles and Databases" at lavc.edu/library (or by clicking on the GVRL logo above):​

  • Innovative Solutions in Fluid-Particle Systems and Renewable Energy Management (2015)
  • Robotics: Locomotion and Mechanics (2017)
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.